Falling for the Beast by Victorine E. Lieske

Summary: Aribelle is backed into the position of cleaning house for the horrible Mr. Thaddeus Walker. Not only is he rude, he’s dangerously secretive, going out at night and coming home with injuries which seem to heal mysteriously fast. She should be keeping her distance, not trying to break down his barriers. But the more she uncovers, the more attracted she becomes until the cost of exposing his secrets fades behind the risk of losing her heart.Thaddeus knows he should have sent the girl away instead of allowing her into his home. Now she’s asking questions he can’t answer. And the more time they spend together, the more he wishes he could pull her close and kiss her. But he can’t afford to do that. Beautiful Aribelle could never love a beast.  Falling for the Beast is a sweet romance

Review

2 stars You can also read it on my goodreads!

Received from Netgalley in exchange of honest review.

*take deep breaths*

Breathe in Breathe Out

ok.

This was probably the most mediocre, bland ,and juvenile BATB retellings I have ever read. The book was blander than having chicken with no season on it.

Let me get into the #1 reason why.

THE HERO AND HEROINE HAD ZERO I MEAN ZERO CHEMISTRY TOGETHER AND IT BORDERLINE INSTA-LOVE TO THE MAX.

Actually it is insta-love because they start to have feelings for each other like a week after they met. ( Even tho he got her fired from her job but that’s ok. Wanting to kiss someone trumps getting fired.) The majority of the book took place in a two-week span with a month and half time jump towards the last 3 chapters. Every interaction they had I was bored out my mind and was cringing cause they act like a pair of teenagers instead of two mid twenties adults that I though they should be. I want to place beast character around 25 years old and place beauty around 20 so at least a five-year age difference between them. I mean after the first week ,where he pretty much was an ass to her majority of the time ,all he can think about was kissing her and which she was thinking the same thing. Honestly the majority of the book that’s what they was thinking about each other. They were thinking this the whole time in the book where I’m internally screaming on the top of my lungs that they just met a week ago. It frustrating to the max since I’m a type of girl who love slow burns. I love for a couple to get to know each other for at least a couple of weeks while gradually seeing them fall in love.

Sometimes an author can pull off the couple only knowing each other from a week to a month and falling love with each other. This author failed miserably at trying to covey that cause her main leads didn’t have chemistry at all. Their whole relationship feels forced and straight up juvenile cause I felt like I was reading a bad middle grade book instead of a YA.. The beauty of the story was annoying and noise as hell while getting tired of her mopping about her father while the beast was blander than un-buttered toast screaming what a monster he is even tho he’s using his curse for good. Have him say that a bunch of times while wanting to constantly kiss her , while going into the night healing people and you have the freaking story! Oh! How can I forget about them always cooking for each other. They had more chemistry with the food they ate than with each other.

Please don’t get me started on the Gaston type character which was so one-dimensional that it hurts to even call him the villain of the story cause he was more annoying than terrifying.

The best thing about this book was the interpretation of the beast curse cause that probably the only thing the author put all her focus on. She sure as hell didn’t put her focus on the characters and the relationship between her two leads. It’s the only reason why it’s getting a 2 stars cause I was amazed on how he takes the cuts and bruised of others once he heal them. That was something I never seen in a BATB retelling which made it interesting and original. It was probably the only thing that kept me for not DNFing it.

This is a 195 page book that took me almost a month to finish. That’s has never happen to me because since I’m a pretty fast reader if I’m enjoying a book. I can at least finish a book from a span of 2 days to at least a week in a half depending on the sized and how much reading I get in a day. I’m so glad to be done with this book that I’m probably going to give reading BATB retelling rest for a while. The past three has been mediocre to me so I guess it’s time for me to find another fairy tale retelling for a while.

I wouldn’t recommend this one to no one.

 

 

One thought on “Falling for the Beast by Victorine E. Lieske

Leave a Reply

