Rhapsodic by Laura Thalassa

Rhapsodic (The Bargainer, #1)Summary:Callypso Lillis is a siren with a very big problem, one that stretches up her arm and far into her past. For the last seven years she’s been collecting a bracelet of black beads up her wrist, magical IOUs for favors she’s received. Only death or repayment will fulfill the obligations. Only then will the beads disappear.
Everyone knows that if you need a favor, you go to the Bargainer to make it happen. He’s a man who can get you anything you want… at a price. And everyone knows that sooner or later he always collects.
But for one of his clients, he’s never asked for repayment. Not until now. When Callie finds the fae king of the night in her room, a grin on his lips and a twinkle in his eye, she knows things are about to change. At first it’s just a chaste kiss—a single bead’s worth—and a promise for more.
For the Bargainer, it’s more than just a matter of rekindling an old romance. Something is happening in the Otherworld. Fae warriors are going missing one by one. Only the women are returned, each in a glass casket, a child clutched to their breast. And then there are the whispers among the slaves, whispers of an evil that’s been awoken.
If the Bargainer has any hope to save his people, he’ll need the help of the siren he spurned long ago. Only, his foe has a taste for exotic creatures, and Callie just happens to be one.

Review

Four Stars!

I found out about this one thanks to a tumblr post recommending it even tho I heard about this author and wanted to read something from her a while ago.

I’m really shocked that I enjoyed this one with it being at least 95% romance and 5% mystery/action/plot. I do like romance in my books but not a whole lot . I’m more of plot and character girl with a cup of romance but not a whole lost.  Just enough if it’s deemed necessary if the characters interact and shows interest with each other and not just sexual tension..  I think the reason why I loved it cause how it presented with heroine, Callie knowing the love interest,  Des, a couple of years prior to the start of story hence them already having a past  which was told in flashbacks. That was interesting because she’s not meeting this mysterious character for the first time which she proceeds to fall heads over him.It’s very similar to A Court of Thorns of Roses series where the heroine makes a bargain with her potential love interest who is a powerful Fae but it’s some differences as well when it comes to plot. Des is very similar to Rhys but more frustrating than Rhys when comes to the ” I’m telling you shit about myself even tho I know everything about you.” front. Shocking right? lol

While on the subject of it being similar to ACOMAF which people have called it a ripoff and accuse it of plagiarism,let me say this . This book come out in Nov 2016 while ACOMAF come out in May 2016. While it’s highly possible, I refused to believe that this author wrote 100K in roughly five months after ACOMAF come out. I’m not saying it can’t happen but come on. So I’m going to chalk this up as being coincidental and maybe just inspired by it.

I enjoyed Callie as a main character because she pretty badass with her siren powers and it was pretty cool to be in her head.  Her best friend Temper is probably the best character in the book but I wanted to know what she was which was never mentioned.  She’s still under developed even if I consider her one of the best characters. Even tho I enjoyed this book because it was funny as hell(the humor in this book is off the wall) ,I was kind of frustrated with it cause I really more world building with it. It had a good set up with the other world with Fae and how supernatural roam the real world but I want to know about how  the world works as a whole. Also I wanted more of the mystery and action which it fell flat towards the last 10%of the book. I also need more side characters in this book. Besides Callie and Des being the main characters, and the villain, you only had two side characters which one of where Temper that meant something. A supporting cast is important to your story as much as your main characters. All in All I enjoyed it but it was more to be desired.

Do I recommend it?

Yes! If you loved the ACOTAR Series.

 

Leave a Reply

