July Featured Post:Middle of the Year Wrap Up 2017

So  since June has ended, that means the first half of the year is gone and we’re heading to the second half of the year. . Damn 6 months went by fast!

My six months stats

79 books  read– Holy Shit! I have already surpassed my reading challenge for this year and last year. If I keep this up I can get to 100 books for the year. My overall goal is to at least get my overall book total to 200 books. I’m at 192 book so I’m really close to my goal that I hope I obtain by the end of the year..

15,124 pages read Well Give or take since some of the books was audiobooks which have become my love.

Overall the first half of the year has been good to me but it’s not without its disappointments.

My Fave Books of the year so far.( 4 Stars and Above) 

  1. Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo
  2. Followed By Frost by Charlie Holmberg
  3. The Curse Girl by Kate Avery Ellison
  4. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  5. Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly
  6. Bellamy and the Brute Series by  Alicia Michaels
  7. Spicy Little Curses by Laini Taylor
  8. A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
  9. A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi
  10. Rhapsodic by Laura Thalassa
  11. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Honorable Mentions ( 3 -3.5 Stars) 

  1. Beauty Series by Various Authors
  2. Ruby and the Beast by Ditter Kellen
  3. Beauty and the Clockwork Beast  by Nancy Campbell Allen
  4. The Red by Tiffany Reisz
  5. Textrovert by Lindsey Summers
  6. The Paper Magician Trilogy by Charlie Holmberg

A waste of time (1-2 Stars or DNF) 

  1. Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh
  2. Caraval by Stephanie Garber
  3. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones
  4. Hunted by Meagan Spooner
  5. Taming Beauty by Lynne Barron
  6. A Beast’s Belle by J. Gambardella
  7. Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey
  8. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
  9. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  10.  All of Alexa Riley Books…Well I haven’t read all of them but the ones I have read..  ( Untouched, Devotion , Paying Daddy’s Debt,Taking What’s Naughty,  Taking What’s Hers)

Individual Awards 

Biggest Surprise

A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen, #2)A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi -This one really took me by surprise because I didn’t like The Star Touch Queen at all. A matter of fact I didn’t even finish it at all because I couldn’t connect with Maya, Amar or the story itself even tho the writing was beautiful.. It took me like three times to actually read the first chapter until I decided to get the audiobook which I only made it half way. A Crown of Wishes was a totally different story altogether. Everything from the characters, the story to the writing was so much better in this one! So this was the shocker of the year so far because I was not going to read it until someone said it has the ” enemies to lovers” trope that I love so much.

Hidden Gem

25820414

Rhapsodic by Laura Thalassa- I haven’t written a review for this one yet since I just finish it today, but this one was pretty good. I found out about this one thanks to a tumblr post recommending it which is why I’m calling it a hidden gem.  It’s very similar to A Court of Thorns of Roses series ( like Desmond can be Rhysand’s twin brother but more frustrating. Yeah I know that’s a shock. lol  ) but it’s some differences as well when it comes to plot. ( Like the main character, Callie  is a Siren in the start of the series.)  I have been wanting to read something from this author for a while and I finally got the chance to do it. I will be reading the second one soon so maybe it will end up on  my end of year post in December.

Biggest Disappointment

Flame in the Mist (Flame in the Mist, #1)Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh-This was my second most anticipated book of the year behind ACOWAR  and it completely let me down. I couldn’t even finish it cause I was bored out my mind trying to connect with the characters and the world as a listen to it. It’s so boring like watching paint dry. I couldn’t for the life of me immerse myself into the world or give a shit to what happen to the characters. This wasn’t the Renee that I fell in love with her writing in The Wrath and the Dawn.I don’t know what the hell that was.

 

 

Prettiest Cover (s) 

Even tho I feel like my picks for Biggest surprise and Disappoint have some pretty covers (which they do) I want show case so more covers besides those two. So am picking two from each category I have

Fave Books

3409917033412061

Honorable Mentions

23485372

A Waste of Time

2976379934913117

So here’s to the second half of the year being even better! I have signed up for Netgalley so I have a lot of arcs I need to read. 🙂

Tanya out!

 

4 thoughts on “July Featured Post:Middle of the Year Wrap Up 2017

Leave a Reply

